watch a short documentary grow tall…

The Launch

The most successful and fulfilling projects are never done alone.  So, I’ve decided the best way to launch this production blog is to thank everybody who has decided they want to be a part of this project and show that by being a part of the Kickstarter launch.  Every few hours I find myself smiling and feeling quite warm and happy inside as I see people facebooking and tweeting at their friends to support the project,  as I receive emails notifying me somebody has pledged, and as friends promise to send our words along to their family members.  I hope you all know how grateful and excited we are to know that you’re on board with us.  Thank you.  Thank you.  and Thank you again.

Side story (optional reading): I’m never going to forget a very specific moment in my childhood when my CYBA basketball team “The Sisters” had just lost and a 10-year-old me had missed a buzzer shot.  I remember standing on the court devastated and crying while the other team celebrated, but then I felt two friendly arms around me.  It was Kim Coonce (my coach’s wife), who leaned down and said, “There’s no “I” in “TEAM”.  That has stuck with me since and can be applied to a big win, a painful loss, and to tons of other collaborative scenarios.  Like this one!

Back to The Launch:

Friday, January 28th 11pm EST marks the official launch of 10,000 Tree‘s Kickstarter fundraising page.  We’re aiming for $5,000 dollars in 30 days and boy oh boy are we on our way.  Our Kickstarter is only 3 days old and we’re 36% funded.  This is all fine and dandy, but it’s common for projects to have this incredible momentum where people crawl out of the cracks and support your project.  But the momentum withers away after a week or so and your project just sits there in the dark, cold and alone, untouched for days.

SO…to avoid this depressing thought and to spread Victor’s story around to all types of communities, Sarah Berkovich and I have been working hard and researching a ton of organizations and bloggers relevant to our themes.  We will post any special mentions and shout outs we receive right here… so keep a look out.

 

— Sarah Ginsburg

 

Kickstarter: Day 3

Leave a Reply

