watch a short documentary grow tall…

Greetings from Mix A!

DISCLAIMER(?): THIS WAS WRITTEN 2 DAYS AGO BUT IS JUST NOW BEING POSTED DUE TO A LONG OVER DUE NAP AND A LONG OVER DUE VISIT TO MY SOCIAL LIFE. THE FILM IS DUE IN THE HANDS OF MIX A’S WONDEROUS CHRISSY AT 4PM ON MONDAY…EXPECT AN UPDATE SOON AFTER. IN THE MEANTIME, READ THIS SEMI-NONSENSE.

Firstly, open your ears to a little preview of the 10,000 Trees score by Old Bay Records. This timelapse documents the recording of the music. Listen, watch, enjoy:

Right now, at this very moment that these words are leaving my brain, traveling to my fingers and appearing on the screen for you to read, I sit next to Mix Master Audio Extraordinaire Austin Plocher.

On top of trekking all the way to Lyle, Washington to record the sounds of Victor and his trees, Austin is doing all the mixing for the film as well.

So we all know that organizing, structuring, figuring out a story, and then editing together a documentary takes a very long time.  We also know there are more steps than that but no need to list em’ all out.  Considering this information, the editing of 10,000 Trees is going swimmingly.

I think it’s safe to say that I’ve spent about 90% of the free moments I have had editing this film.  I feel like the struggles I’ve been dealing with are some wonderful struggles to have:  incredible characters who say way too many amazing things in too beautiful of  a setting.  Many of my hours are spent banging my head on the desk or against some wall or lamp.  Why the banging of the head?  Because I’ve had to wave goodbye to these little pieces of footage that I’ve become so attached to.  Knowing that too much of a good thing can be bad, or overkill, I’ve put on my hardhat, made some hard decisions, and kept the components necessary to make a great story.

If you’ve noticed my jibber jabber and long-winded explanations, I do apologize.  I never got around to resting my eyes last night as I was plugging away on the cut, making sure it was done for today’s mix.

Our mixed and color corrected pieces are due to Chrissy this Monday (4/25) for our April 28th screening in the Kevin Bright Screening Room.  Don’t worry, there are more screenings coming up right around graduation.

So, you stay tuned!  Austin will mix! and I will finally sleep!

Yours truly,

Sarah Ginsburg

Leave a Reply

